About Us

In 2016, the Department developed the Mental Health Housing Court Program (MHHC) with the primary goal of supervising Office of Diversion and Reentry (ODR) court ordered grants of probation.

The MHHC Unit is a collaborative unit that engages with multiple stakeholders to ensure that probationers, who have been found eligible and suitable for Office of Diversion and Re-Entry (ODR) program, receive services and engagement in the community. The MHHC unit is also tasked with providing the designated ODR courts with an independent assessment of a candidate’s suitability for the ODR unit, based on the seriousness of prior offenses, prior conduct of Probation grants, focusing assessed receptivity to engagement with services, and other criminogenic factors.

Effective May 1, 2019, the Superior Court of Los Angeles County implemented a HUB model for identifying participants for the ODR Housing program. All cases found to be appropriate for the ODR Housing Program will be sentenced out of the Central Superior Court Department 044, the Airport Court, Department 71, Van Nuys Court now heard out of Department 044. These Hub Courts accept cases from other superior courts.

Los Angeles County Probation Department Mental Health Housing Court Program partnered with the Department of Mental Health and other law enforcement agencies and attended several trainings such as:

• An overview of mental health illness and how to intervene and de-escalate mental health clients
• How to determine the differences between depression, bipolar, and Schizophrenia behaviors
• An overview of the various mental health medications
• Field Officer Safety Training (Pepper Spray, Handcuffs)
• Motivational Interviewing (MI)
• The Level of Service/ Case Management Inventory (LS/CMI)
• Evidence-Based Practices (EBP)
• Courage to Change Journaling System
• 5150 Designee Training (Upcoming Soon)

Contact Us

Mental Health Housing Court Program
12021 S. Wilmington Avenue Building 18 Suite B001
LA, CA 90059

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Friday 8:00 am – 5:00 pm 

Skip to content